Savannah Ocean Exchange Seeks Submissions for $100,000 Gulfstream Navigator Award

a global search for the best solutions that helps our world’s coasts

(SAVANNAH, GA) The Savannah Ocean Exchange Board of Governors announces a call for submissions for the first annual $100,000 Gulfstream Navigator Award. The award will recognize the business, organization or individual with the best currently operational technology, or solution that improves the world’s coasts. Applications may be submitted online at between January 30 and June 1, 2011.

Global submissions will be reviewed by a panel assembled by Dr. Nancy Knowlton, Sant chair for Marine Sciences at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of Natural History. The top 10 entries will be judged by the 27 members of the Savannah Ocean Exchange’s Board of Governors, along with a panel of international experts. The most promising solution will be awarded the $100,000 Gulfstream Navigator Award at the Solutions Exchange gala on September 8, 2011, in Savannah.

The winning technology / solution will drive sustainable change; improve ecological, economic and global connectivity; and respect the unique cultural sense of place of coastal communities. The Savannah Ocean Exchange’s Board of Governors and a panel of experts will work together for 12 months to implement the winning idea.

About the Savannah Ocean Exchange
Founded in 2010, the Savannah Ocean Exchange is an annual event held every September in Savannah, Georgia, USA. The Savannah Ocean Exchange unites global organizations across multiple disciplines and boundaries to distribute and adopt solutions that positively impact oceans and ocean life. The Board of Governors includes 27 thought-leaders from around the globe who represent diverse backgrounds and expertise and share a commitment to innovation and to the protection of the world’s oceans.

The theme for the 2011 Savannah Ocean Exchange is “Shaping the Future of Our Coasts.” The event will include the Solutions Exchange, which will take place September 7-8, along with several Exchanges open to the public during the entire month of September. The Public Exchanges will focus on four areas: culture and cuisine, events and excursions, presentations and performances, and vessels and viewings. For more information about the Savannah Ocean Exchange, the 2011 Solutions Exchange and Public Exchange and details about the 2011 $100,000 Gulfstream Navigator Award, please visit .

About Gulfstream Aerospace Corporation
Gulfstream Aerospace Corporation, a wholly owned subsidiary
 of General Dynamics (NYSE:GD), designs, develops,
 manufactures, markets, services and supports the world’s most 
technologically advanced business-jet aircraft. Gulfstream has 
produced more than 1,900 aircraft for customers around the 
world since 1958. The company employs more than 9,000 people at seven major locations. .

Savannah Ocean Exchange
 Board of Governors
NOAA Office of National Marine Sanctuaries, Director – Danial J. Basta

– Georgia Ports Authority Executive Director – Curtis J. Foltz

– The Coca-Cola Company, Vice President of Environment and Water Resources – Jeff Seabright

– International Financial Services (IFSC), Ireland, Chairman – John Bruton

– Shipbuilding Association of Canada, President – Peter Cairns

– Wallenius Wilhelmsen – Logistics Americas LLC, President of Region Americas, – Wallenius Wilhelmsen Logistics/Deputy CEO Christopher J. Connor

– Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority, Australia –
Director, Ecosystem Conservation and Sustainable Use – Jon Day

– Savannah College of Art and Design, Chief Academic Officer – Tom Fischer

– Georgia Institute of Technology, -Director Georgia Tech Savannah Vice Provost Georgia Tech – David Frost

UPS, Vice President, Customer Relationship Management – Dale Hayes

– Smithsonian Institution, Sant Chair, Marine Science, Museum of Natural History – Nancy Knowlton

– IUCN’s World Commission on Protected Areas, Marine Vice Chair – Dan Laffoley

– Vice Admiral U.S. Navy and NOAA (RET.) – Conrad C. Lautenbacher Jr.

– Harvard University, Senior Fellow, Advanced Leadership Initiative – Susan Leal

– Independent Film Producer – Stratton Leopold

– Gulfstream, Executive Vice – President General Dynamics, Aerospace Group and President of Gulfstream Aerospace Corporation – Joe Lombardo

JCB, Vice Chairman – John Patterson

– iTECH for Business LLC, CEO – George Powers

– Endeavor, CEO and Founder – Linda Rottenberg

GPB Media, President and Executive Director – Teya Ryan

– Sapelo Foundation, Secretary & Trustee – Irene Reynolds Schier

NOAA National Marine Fisheries Service, Assistant Administrator for Fisheries – Eric C. Schwaab

– American Samoa Government, Governor Togiola T. A Tulafono

– Author Jack Uldrich

– SEAlliance, founding partner of Mission Blue,
Google Curator/Content Editor for OCEAN in Google Earth – Charlotte Vick

– Emory University, Director of the Emory Center for Ethics-Paul Root Wolpe PhD.

– Paz Energy LLC, Chairman of the Board of Managers – Brig. Gen. Albert C. Zapanta (Ret.)

Marjorie Young, President of Carriage Trade Public Relations,

Scroll to Top